top of page
Search
  • Sarina Bosco

Featherhood: A Memoir of Two Fathers and a Magpie | Charlie Gilmour

Updated: Dec 27, 2021

Read If: you enjoy memoirs, have a complicated relationship with your parents, want to process relationships alongside the author.

I like the idea behind this book and at times it works. You really do see the author's loss, confusion, and frustration with his relationship with his father come through.


But parts of this book read as self-indulgent and a bit braggy, and they threw me off as they didn't jive with the rest of the memoir. I made the mistake later of looking the author up on social media and the presentation of his life there only threw the balance off more (not that it should or shouldn't, but he represents himself very differently via social media than in this book).


There is a depth that I feel is wanted in this book, but doesn't quite get delivered.


Side note: if you're looking for a bird/nature-centered book, this isn't it. The bird is definitely a vehicle to help the author deal with his life and human relationships, but the focus is definitely human relationships.


Ultimately, I don't think I would've missed out on much if I hadn't read this book; it's relatable in the way that, yes, most of us have issues around our relationships with our parents. But sometimes I found myself saying, "and what....?"



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page