top of page
Search
  • Sarina Bosco

Queenie | Candice Carty-Williams

Updated: Dec 27, 2021

Read If: you're in your twenties and need to get over making bad decisions, you like watching other people make bad decisions, you want to get into someone's head as they self-sabotage, you're interested in the struggle of black women in the workplace and biracial relationships.

For me, this book was somewhat adjacent to Luster. Another young woman making very obvious poor decisions over and over, although there was at least a little more self-discovery in this one. I'm wondering if it's just being out of my 20s and (somehow) actually having learned lessons that made me lose my patience a few times.


Not a bad story, but the constant bad decisions get exhausting and at times the main character was truly hard to like or sympathize with.


Pros: I do think it did a good job of juggling the relationship not only between men, women, and sex - but white men, black women, and their bodies as sexual objects/things to love or dislike and struggle with.


Cons: While the "pros" are incredibly important and what I wanted to focus on, a lot of the time the character's blundering around took away from them.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page