top of page
Search
  • Sarina Bosco

Melmoth | Sarah Perry

Updated: Dec 27, 2021

Read If: you like rainy day, doomsday vibes with a biblical kind of undertone.

Here we go. The book I liked the least this year - the hardest one to review because I'm still eye-rolling whenever I think about it.


And one of less than 10 books that I have never finished.


I was intrigued by Melmoth because of the great reviews, the author's reputation, and the promise of this book: some kind of doomsday creature showing up and making people die in agony. Yes, I was definitely thinking Mothman; but Melmoth takes place in Prague, during who knows what year.


That's part of the problem. We know where we are, but when? The surroundings, the character, everything described is so drab that I found it hard to get interested. And yes, there's a reason for that - the main character is punishing herself, for some reason. But I made it halfway through this book and was absolutely no closer to figuring out what. Or figuring out what happened to her friend, who has gone missing.


The most interesting parts of Melmoth were the past accounts of people who encountered this being, and they were very few and far between. Any time I returned to the present in the book, I found myself bored out of my mind.


Okay, some of the side characters were interesting, but they were definitely not enough to pull this book through. I'm shocked so many people not only read the entire thing, but liked it.


You have to give me a reason to keep reading at SOME point, and there just wasn't one.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page